“And the winner is…..” sweat flew down my forehead as I listened to the host announce the winner’s name, eagerly…. Wait, why don’t I tell you, folks, the story from the beginning?

Well, it was a beautiful sunny day as I arrived back to the regional Heritage Fair with my friends; we had come back from an amazing field trip. It was time for us to present our project… after presenting to a number of people, two ladies came up to me and said that it was time to present to the lieutenant governor. Oh no! I had forgotten that I had to present it to the governor! I swallowed a lump as I prayed to be successful. A few minutes later, a crowd gathered around the front door. Suddenly, everyone started coming my way following a lady with a beautiful suit. They all stopped in front of me. Then, a lady told me that the governor was here, and then I realized that the lady with the suit was the governor. “You could do this Dania”, I thought. So, I took a deep breath and somehow found the courage to speak. At the closing ceremony, one lucky student was to receive The Lieutenant Governor’s Literacy Award. As I was telling you guys in the beginning, “And the winner is…” sweat flew down my forehead as I listened to the host announce the winner’s name, eagerly, “…..Dania!”

I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. My friend pushed me towards the stage. As I stood up, everyone started clapping for me. I was very proud.  And that was my favorite memory ever.

Author: Dania

