Museums are a useful way of gathering accurate information and learning about your topic. At museums, there are many different ways to gather information. If you learn best by reading, there are books and writing on displays. Some people learn best by listening, and at museums, there are experts who can provide you with useful information for you project. If visual learning is the best way for you, most museums have visual displays that include dioramas, displays and artifacts which not only provide you with information, they can provide you with ideas for a visual aspect for you project.

Accurate information can be gathered at museums from different displays, people or books. Interesting facts can also be discovered that you may never find online. Also, museums can provide you with what teachers call ‘Primary Sources.’ Primary sources include artifacts such as newspaper articles and documents from the time, letters, and interviews with witnesses of history. Primary sources are more reliable than recent sources because primary sources are from the time period whereas other sources could be written years after the event, and could be inaccurate. These primary sources provide you with information from people from that time, which adds another level of depth to your project.

Throughout my years of Heritage Fair, I have found museums to be very useful for gather information and engaging me in my topic. For Heritage Fair this year, I made a project about the ‘Flying Seven,’ who were a group of female pilots based in Vancouver just before the Second World War. To find information, I went on the Vancouver Museum website but mainly I went to the local Air Force museum. Over the course of one week, I spent around 8 hours at this one museum alone. While I was there, the museum library provided me with many different books on aspects of my topic and helped me to research my topic. While I was talking with someone at the museum, the other workers would provide me with information throughout the conversation when they knew something about what we were talking about. I found this process very helpful and I was able to find a lot of information. At this museum, there was a book that provided me with a lot of information on aspects of my topic that I could find nowhere on the internet. I think this shows that museums are useful as well as books.

I know that museums are not always an option. If the reason that you can’t use a museums is that there isn’t one around you about your topic, I suggest that you look one up and call or email them. The museum would probably be very glad to help you with a project. There are some topics which museums wouldn’t be useful, but I find that for the majority of projects, there is a museum somewhere
that can provide you with information. This is why I believe that museums are a useful way of providing information for and making a project really engaging.

Best of luck and wishes to all of you creating projects.

Author: Margaret

